top of page
Writer's pictureSophie SOSC4159

Exquisite Corpse Soundscape

Updated: Oct 11, 2021


Artist Statement:

For my soundscape, I wanted to mimic the sounds I heard from my childhood home. Some of the mixtures between indoor and outdoor sounds may not seem like it should work, but the sounds you hear throughout the house really do produce the crossover I created. The screen porch specifically was an experience I attempted to create. You can hear the birds and the nature surrounding you, but you're protected by a screen from


anything that may be inconvenient (bugs, weather, etc.). Each member in my family may be doing something different–writing, reading, drawing, etc.–but the sounds from the outside mix with the human sounds ("inside sounds"). My childhood home is being sold this year, so I wanted to create something that would pay tribute to it in some way. It is the only home I've ever had, and the sounds I became so accustomed to became background noise for my life, and so as I created my audio, I felt nostalgic as I recounted the audio of my childhood.










4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page